After Graduation and Before the Peace Corps

I have about 10 months before my tentative leave date of May 2015. So in order to fill that time I am looking for an internship, contract job, or whatever I can find.

It was suggested to me by my recruiter that I peruse substitute teaching or tutoring in order to get more experience in the classroom before I teach English in Cameroon. On the other hand, my mother thinks I should get a job that is more in my field (International Development) so when I get back from the Peace Corps I have even more experience on my resume – and I can make some good money.

Of course I agree with them both so I got a job as a tutor (though I don’t have any students yet), I am filling out the application for substitute teaching, and I have applied to exactly 17 internships because I like to cast a wide net.

Sadly, I have yet to hear back from any of the places I applied.

My mom thinks I should hear something/ be working by September, at the least.

Leave a Reply

