I’m Qualified and Successful, Who Knew?

Yes, I believe this is relevant to be Peace Corps service and becoming a Peace Corps volunteer.

One of the most degrading things that a white person can do to a Black person is reduce their success to their skin color. Seriously, don’t do this.

What do I mean by this?

I mean that when I say I was accepted to the Peace Corps,or that I want to apply to the State Department, then you shouldn’t say that I got/will get in because I’m Black. Because to me that translates to, “I don’t recognize that you spent 4 years preparing for this moment. Going to a good school, getting good grades, studying another language, getting a College degree, and working internships, no I don’t see all that hard work. All I recognize is that diversity is probably important to that institution. Thus, that is the only reason you were accepted. Not because you’re qualified, but because your Black.”

Why can’t you just give credit where credit is due? Why would you then take it up a notch and say “I mean I applied but I’m a white guy so it was no go for me….but you’re a Black woman you should do just fine.”

Do you have any idea how degrading that is? To hear someone┬árefuse to acknowledge my success and reduce my success to my skin color? Of course not. Because you’re too caught up in your bigoted comment.

It’s a “damned if I do, damned if I don’t,” situation because if I wasn’t successful it would also be because, “you’re Black so you’re lazy.”

The good news is, you mean nothing to me! My upbringing prepared me for people like you.  Thus, I will just continue to be an amazing, talented, and hard working Black woman.

There will be plenty of people who will come along and do just what you did. There are talented Black women who have to hear that garbage all the time. I just hope they also continue to be amazing and don’t get bogged down in the worlds racism in the process.

Leave a Reply

