General Update 

I’m coming close to the end of training!
Finally.

I have about 2 weeks of training, along with model school, left before swear in.

On the 22nd there will be a small ceremony to thank the host families for taking us in and being amazing. I have mixed feelings about the ceremony because it means that I’ll be leaving Léo and my host family behind. I know I’m going to miss them but that just means I’ll have to visit them whenever I can.

For the ceremony my host family is getting me a traditionally styled outfit made! I don’t know exactly what it is going to look like yet so I’m excited to see it. I have seen the material though, it’s rust red and beige. I have a feeling it’s going to look awesome.

The day after the ceremony I’m off to Ouaga, and Swear In (aka when I officially become a volunteer) will be on the 25th. I’m expecting great food for Swear In so that will be awesome. Also, I’m having a new dress made specifically for the event since it’s supposed to be super fancy and I brought zero fancy clothes with me.

Within the following week (between the 27th and the 29th) I will be shipped off to my site and start my “étude du milieu,” also known as a period of 3 months where I’m not supposed to travel anywhere, stay at my site, and get to know the community. The only place I can travel is my regional capital, Banfora, to get food, go to the post office, etc.

I have mixed emotions about going to my site. I’m ready to be done with training but I don’t want to leave Léo. I’m leaving just when I’m starting to really know the area and know a good sized group of people. Now, I’ll have to start all over again. Not to mentioned I’ll have to really start using Joula, and I don’t think I’m prepared for that. However, ça va allé. This is what I signed up for and its time to get the next 2 years under way.

Leave a Reply

