I’m OFFICIAL

As of the 25th of August me, and 20 other trainees, officially became a volunteers. 

Swear In took place at the U.S. Embassy in Ouagadougou, the capital. The event itself was mostly a formality so it was not all that exciting. However, 3 volunteers gave speeches, in French, Joula, and Moore, the Ambassador was there, and there was a barbecue afterwards (aka the last time I’ll have access to burgers and hot dogs for awhile). 

DSC_0019
During the Ceremony
_DSC0130

_DSC0243
Talking to the United States Ambassador to Burkina Faso

Volontaires-osant-en-photos-avec-le-ministre-lambassadeur-le-directeur-du-corps-de-la-paix-au-milieu-640x360
Officially Official
Now that I’m a volunteer I am simply waiting to be sent off to my site in a matter of days. By the 29th I will have moved in and can start my 3 month ‘etude’ period where I will start getting to know my community! 

It’s a little nerve wrecking to know that I won’t be seeing the same 21 people everyday like I have been for the last 3 months. But I know it’s time to start my service, and there are so many good things to come!

Wish me luck

Leave a Reply

